Tracking Student Achievement #MTBoSBlaugust

I blogged previously about how next year our math department has decided to move toward a department-wide grade replacement policy (see #MTBoS30 Day 9: Grade Replacement vs. Standards Based Grading) and I’ve been working on figuring out how I can still include students in the process. I enjoyed using Dan Meyer’s concept checklist over the last two years. Sometimes it was a hassle, but for the students that actually kept track of theirs they enjoyed knowing what their strengths and weaknesses were (and getting those stickers!)

Last spring semester I taught a new class called Algebra, Functions, and Data Analysis – this is a class that is not tested by the state but still has standards. I mostly used stuff from the other teacher who was teaching AFDA at the same time as me and only glanced through the standards before teaching the course… good job, past me. But, we live and learn. There were some days that seemed too easy and repetitive and others that seemed totally over my students’ heads, and the same was true about the quizzes and projects they completed as assessment. I didn’t really enjoy that, but I felt a little overwhelmed without a planning period so I kept pushing through. Well I’ve finally sat down and looked at the standards and boy did we do some interesting things. We taught multiple things that definitely are not required! Some of which I’ll be keeping, and some of which will probably get tossed.

ANYWHO, I digress… After reviewing our curriculum map and the state standards, and a little inspiration from someone on Twitter (I forget who) I made up slightly new Achievement Trackers. My plan is to have students keep these at the front of their assessment section of their binders so they’re easy to find.

Things I Like:

  • students being cognizant of what grades they’re earning (and hopefully why!)
  • helps me better plan lessons and assessments
  • the students have less to keep track of compared to the old concept checklist

Things I’m Not Sure I Like:

  • some of the wording isn’t necessarily the most student friendly/some boxes have a lot of text
  • it will take up two pieces of paper front/back
  • the homework section at the beginning of each unit

Let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions!

Author:

Currently a high school math teacher working on a cross-curricular project-based learning.

Leave a Reply

